“The J-V Citing Method”

After a long day at the end of a long project to write white paper, my peer and friend, Jeremy Williams and I were starting to get a little loopy.  Jeremy coming from a Journalism background and me from a Communications background, we had different ideas of how our paper should be cited.  He said APA and I said MLA.  In our loopiness, we decided to make up our own form of citing which we dubbed “The J-V Citing Method.”  This is probably one of those “you had to be there” moments but these are exactly the memories I want to bring with me as my time at Brandcenter draws to a close.

 

The J-V Citing Method

  • combo of MLA and APA styles
  • “works cited” or “bibliography” is now called “Inspiration”
  • “Inspiration” includes every source consulted during research
  • “Inspiration” does not need to be alphabetized
  • Body of paper is cited using footnotes
  • Footnotes are written in MLA style

About virginiafromvirginia

I'm Virginia and I'm from Virginia. I'm a UX designer at Arnoldnyc. View all posts by virginiafromvirginia

Leave a comment